OUR CAUSE

THE Drama of Human Trafficking

Human trafficking is a form of slavery in which human beings are traded. With 10.5 million victims, it is currently the third largest source of criminal income in the world. Southeast Asia, and Cambodia in particular, are particularly affected by this scourge. There are more than 200,000 victims in Cambodia, 30% of whom are children. This slavery is estimated to bring in more than 52 billion US dollars in revenue for criminals each year in Southeast Asia.

 

The majority of victims are women and girls, aged between two and 20, victims of sexual abuse or considered to be in potential danger, who have been sold by their families for economic reasons and are exploited by pimps. Recruited, transported and received by force, threat or other forms of coercion, victims' participation is always involuntary, since even when consent is given, it is obtained through fraud, deception, abduction, abuse of authority or by taking advantage of a situation of vulnerability.

THE MAIN CAUSES IN CAMBODIA
Extreme poverty
Endemic violence against women
Lack of education
icon-domestic-violence.png
Trivialization of violence

Cambodia,
the AFTERMATH of the past

Cambodia is one of the poorest countries in the world, so it is impossible to fund rehabilitation centers locally and funds must therefore be raised abroad.

 

In Southeast Asia, and Cambodia in particular, historical and cultural factors have provided a fertile ground for the development of slavery.

 

During the 1970s, the Khmer Rouge triggered an unprecedented demographic collapse by torturing, starving and murdering over 25% of the population. The regime also caused rapid de-urbanization and a forced return to an agricultural society, which totally devastated the economy. The country is still struggling to recover today, and its people live on an average of $360 per annum.

 

Currently, more than 50% of the population is under 25 years old and the new generation is still suffering from the traumas inflicted on their elders by the bloodthirsty dictator Pol Pot. This has resulted in a society that is still extremely misogynistic, and in which domestic violence and discrimination against women are commonplace.

 

The future of Cambodia is in the hands of its youth. It is essential that they understand the issues surrounding child trafficking and it is therefore our responsibility to expose this scourge by working with the population.

Vieille femme Cambodgienne

AFESIP, activists

since 1996!

AFESIP, an organization created by Somaly Mam, is our local partner. AFESIP has about 30 professionals (teachers, educators, psychologists, administrative employees, investigators, "rescuers" and guards) who work to rescue as many girls as possible from their fate and welcome them to our center.

 

AFESIP’s team consists of Cambodians who all speak Khmer – the country's national language – as well as English in most cases. This enables us to maintain close links and to keep track in real time of the progress made by survivors, both medically and psychologically  as well as at school. Our weekly contacts with AFESIP officials also enable us to assess their needs.

 

In addition, a member of the Solyna Foundation Board visits Cambodia at least twice a year. This is to verify the progress made in the field and follow-up on projects undertaken. The Solyna Foundation Board also regularly monitors AFESIP’s financial statements in order to check how contributions have been used. AFESIP's accounts are finally audited by KPMG annually to ensure proper use of donations.

 

In 2021, Somaly Mam's work was recognized and rewarded. Thanks to the generosity of the Cambodian government, the center was completely rebuilt after the Prime Minister decided to make a donation covering the entire cost of the work following his visit to the center in 2019. The old infrastructure had become more than precarious and unhealthy, so the team was delighted with this good news which has brought about a major change for our residents.

Equipe Afesip Cambodge

NOTRE CAUSE

LE DRAME DU TRAFIC HUMAIN

Le trafic d'êtres humains est une forme d'esclavage dans laquelle des être humains font l'objet d'un commerce. C'est actuellement la troisième source de revenu criminel dans le monde avec 10,5 millions de victimes. L'Asie du Sud-Est, et notamment le Cambodge, sont particulièrement touchés par ce fléau. On dénombre plus de 200'000 victimes au Cambodge dont 30% d'enfants. Cet esclavage rapporterait plus de 52 milliards de dollars de revenu aux criminels chaque année en Asie du Sud-Est.

 

Les victimes sont en majorité des femmes et des petites filles, âgées de 2 à 20 ans. Victimes d'abus sexuels ou considérées comme étant potentiellement en danger. Elles ont été vendues par leurs familles pour des raisons économiques et sont exploitées par des proxénètes. Elles sont recrutées, transportées et réceptionnées par la force, la menace ou d'autres formes de contraintes. La participation des victimes est toujours involontaire, car même lorsqu'il y a consentement celui-ci est obtenu par la fraude, la tromperie, l'enlèvement, l'abus d'autorité ou en profitant d'une situation de vulnérabilité.

LES PRINCIPALES SOURCES AU CAMBODGE
Extrême pauvreté
Violence endémique envers les femmes
Manque d'éducation
icon-domestic-violence.png
Banalisation de la violence

cambodge,

les séquelles du passé

Le Cambodge est l’un des pays les plus pauvres de la planète, il est donc impossible de financer des centres de réinsertion localement. Il est nécessaire de lever des fonds à l’étranger.

En Asie du Sud-Est et plus particulièrement dans cet état, les facteurs historiques et culturels ont fourni un terrain propice au développement de l’esclavage.

Au cours des années 70, les Khmers rouges ont engendré un effondrement démographique sans précédent en torturant, affamant et assassinant plus de 25% de la population. Ce régime a également provoqué une désurbanisation rapide et un retour forcé à une société agricole, ce qui a totalement dévasté l’économie. Le pays peine encore à s’en remettre aujourd’hui et ses habitants vivent avec 360$ par année en moyenne.

 

Actuellement, plus de 50% de la population a moins de 25 ans. La nouvelle génération souffre encore des traumatismes qu’a fait subir Pol Pot, dictateur sanguinaire, à leurs aînés. Cela se traduit par une société encore très misogyne où violence domestique et discrimination envers les femmes sont monnaie courante.

L’avenir du Cambodge est entre les mains de sa jeunesse. Il est primordial que celle-ci comprenne les enjeux du trafic d'enfants. Il nous incombe donc de lever le voile sur ce fléau en travaillant avec la population.

Vieille femme Cambodgienne

AFESIP, militants

depuis 1996!

L’AFESIP, organisme créé par Somaly Mam, est notre partenaire sur place. Il compte une trentaine de professionnels (enseignants, éducateurs, psychologues, employés administratifs, enquêteurs, «sauveteurs» et gardiens) qui oeuvrent pour sortir un maximum de jeunes filles de leur condition et les accueillir dans notre centre.

 

Leur équipe est composée de cambodgiens qui parlent tous le Khmer, langue nationale du pays, ainsi que l’anglais pour la plupart d’entre eux. Cela nous permet d’entretenir des liens étroits et d’être informés en temps réel des progrès accomplis par les rescapées, tant sur le plan médical et psychologique que scolaire. Nos contacts hebdomadaires avec les responsables de l’AFESIP nous permettent également d’évaluer leurs besoins.

De plus, un membre du conseil de fondation de Solyna se rend au moins deux fois par année au Cambodge. Ceci afin de contrôler les avancées réalisées sur le terrain et le suivi des projets initiés. Le conseil de Fondation de Solyna procède également à un suivi régulier des états financiers de l'AFESIP, afin de vérifier l'utilisation des versements effectués. Les comptes de l'AFESIP sont finalement audités par KPMG chaque année pour garantir la bonne utilisation des dons.

En 2021, le travail de Somaly Mam a été reconnu et récompensé. En effet, grâce à la générosité du gouvernement Cambodgien le centre a entièrement été reconstruit. Le premier ministre a décidé d’offrir l’entier des travaux suite à sa visite du centre en 2019. Les anciennes infrastructures étaient devenues plus que précaires et insalubres, c’est pourquoi notre équipe est très heureuse de cette bonne nouvelle qui apporte un vrai changement à nos résidentes.

Equipe Afesip Cambodge