THE SOLYNA FOUNDATION

OUR HISTORY

The Solyna Foundation was born from an encounter between Chris Wolf, our president, and Somaly Mam, founder of AFESIP (Agir pour les Femmes en Situation Précaire – Acting on Behalf of Women in Precarious Situations) in Cambodia. Following this event, he contacted several friends and together they decided to take concrete action. Under the impetus of Swiss volunteers who were scandalized by the abuse suffered each year by several thousand girls and children in Southeast Asia, the Solyna Foundation was thus created in 2013.

 

Our mission is simple: to increase awareness of the still under-reported problem of child trafficking and sexual violence against children, and to raise funds in Switzerland to enable hundreds of victims to be rescued, cared for and reintegrated.

 

In addition to prevention and rescue, AFESIP is involved in the hosting in the center, care, schooling and reintegration of children affected by the above scourges. Our team has been working closely with AFESIP in Cambodia since our inception, both supporting AFESIP activities and raising funds to assist with the rehabilitation of victims and helping them rebuild their lives. Our actions in the field are therefore multiple, their aim being to provide comprehensive care for victims.

Visage d'une statue du temple Bayon à Angkor au Cambodge

OUR ACTIVITIES ON THE GROUND

Sauvetage
Soins médicaux
Soins psychologiques
Education
Formation
Réinsertion

RESCUE
Removal from the risk environment or place of aggression and hosting in the center.

MEDICAL CARE
Emergency care related to the aftermath of abuse and regular medical follow-up.

PSYCHOLOGICAL CARE

Personal and group support according to the trauma experienced.

EDUCATION

Public schooling, reinforced by English, computer, dance and meditation classes.

TRAINING

Support for learning a practical trade or joining a university course.

REINSERTION

A new start in life and personal follow-up for five to 10 years.

We also offer legal support to victims who wish to take steps to obtain redress, as well as participating in a community program to help under-privileged children attend school or receive training. Finally, we strive to undertake prevention in sensitive places, whether in villages, police stations or brothels.

 

The children in our center live like a big family with the older ones helping the younger ones. Psychological support groups are set up and many topics, including self-help, self-esteem and community life, discussed. Court trial preparation groups are also organized and victims who have already experienced these procedures help others to prepare.

 

Creative and sporting activities are an important part of life at the center, helping residents alleviate stress and improve their communication skills. All are encouraged to talk about their feelings and experiences as we help them to plan for the future, whether for their future career or just in the short term. These objectives enable them to focus their strengths and thoughts on a concrete goal as part of rebuilding their lives.

OUR ACTIVITIES IN SWITZERLAND

Fortunate to be able to rely on generous donors and volunteers, our fundraising team is also extremely active in Switzerland and leverages a number of other sources of fundraising.

 

Currently our main resource, our benefit gala dinners take place once a year. These are held in Lausanne and Geneva and are attended by an average of 250 people per event. Several AFESIP representatives attend, including Somaly Mam herself, bringing news of the center and the children as well as giving personal testimonies. Our patroness Annalynne McCord – an American actress serving as President of the Together1heart Foundation – unfailingly takes part in our dinners and supports our common mission with great energy.

 

In 2020, we also started offering those who wish to sponsor a child the opportunity to do so, thus enabling them to create a special bond with the child in question. This in turn provides us with regular income and, alongside our dinners, helps support the center.

 

Finally, the generosity of many volunteers, sponsors and donors allows us to dedicate ourselves to continuing the fight on behalf of our little protégés daily.

Help us

 

​From today onwards, participate in providing a better life for our children.​

  • Raise awareness among your family and friends.
     

  • Participate in or sponsor our benefit gala dinners.
     

  • Make a donation or engage in a sponsorship.
     

  • Organize one-off fundraising events.
     

  • Follow and share our publications on social media.

Solyna
In FIGURES

In 2019, thanks to the support of many donors and volunteers, we were able to donate CHF 213,314 to AFESIP. We would like to thank all those who have made it possible for our foundation to continue its work for the children of Cambodia.

Chiffres Solyna 2019
ANNUAL REPORTS (in french)

Year 2015 here

Year 2016 here

Year 2017 here

Year 2018 here

Year 2019 here


Year 2020 (coming soon)

LEGAL Information

The Solyna Foundation is a foundation governed by Swiss law. Composed of a team of volunteers, its sole beneficiary is AFESIP and it supports child victims of trafficking or sexual violence in Cambodia.

 

The Foundation is registered with the Swiss Registry of Commerce and is subject to the Federal Supervisory Authority for Foundations. It is thus classified as a not-for-profit entity that is exempt from taxes. Donations of CHF 100 or more are therefore tax-deductible.

La fondation

Solyna

NOTRE HISTOIRE

La Fondation Solyna est née de la rencontre entre Chris Wolf, notre président, et Somaly Mam, fondatrice de l'AFESIP (Agir pour les Femmes en Situation Précaire) au Cambodge. A la suite de cet événement, il contacte plusieurs amis et ensemble ils décident d'agir de manière concrète. La Fondation Solyna a ainsi vu le jour en 2013, sous l’impulsion de bénévoles suisses scandalisés par la maltraitance subie chaque année par plusieurs milliers de jeunes filles et d’enfants en Asie du Sud-Est.

Notre mission est simple: informer sur le trafic d'enfants et les violences sexuelles envers les enfants, problématique encore trop méconnue, et récolter des fonds en Suisse afin de permettre à des centaines de victimes d’être secourues, soignées et réinsérées.

Dès lors, notre équipe n'a eu de cesse d'apporter son soutien aux actions de l'AFESIP et de récolter ainsi des fonds pour participer à la reconstruction et la réhabilitation des victimes. En effet, nous collaborons étroitement avec l’AFESIP au Cambodge, qui organise la prévention, le sauvetage, l’accueil en centre, les soins, la scolarisation et la réinsertion des enfants. Nos actions sur le terrain sont donc multiples et leur but est d’offrir aux victimes une prise en charge totale.

NOS ACTIONS SUR LE TERRAIN

Sauvetage
Soins médicaux
Soins psychologiques
Education
Formation
Réinsertion

Sauvetage

Soustraction de l’environnement à risque ou du lieu de l’agression et accueil au centre.

SOINS MEDICAUX

Soins d’urgence liés aux séquelles des maltraitances subies et suivi médical régulier.

SOINS PSYCHOLOGIQUES

Soutien personnel et en groupes de travail en fonction des traumatismes subis.

EDUCATION

Scolarisation publique, renforcée par des cours d’anglais, d’informatique, de danse et de méditation.

FORMATION

Aide à l’apprentissage d’un métier pratique ou à l’intégration d’un cursus universitaire.

REINSERTION

Nouveau départ dans la vie et suivi personnalisé durant 5 à 10 ans.

Nous offrons également un soutien juridique aux victimes qui souhaitent entreprendre des démarches afin d’obtenir réparation. Nous participons aussi à un programme communautaire d’aide aux enfants pauvres, leur permettant d’aller à l’école ou de suivre une formation. Finalement, nous nous efforçons de faire de la prévention dans les endroits sensibles, tant dans les villages que les commissariats ou encore les bordels.

Dans notre centre, les enfants vivent comme une grande famille et les plus grands aident les plus petits. Des groupes de soutien psychologique sont organisés lors desquels de nombreux sujets sont abordés, tels que l’entraide, l’estime de soi et la vie en communauté. Des groupes de préparation à témoigner au tribunal sont également mis en place et les victimes qui ont déjà expérimenté ces procédures aident les autres à se préparer.

 

Les activités créatives et sportives ont une grande place au sein du centre et permettent aux pensionnaires de se libérer du stress et d’améliorer leur communication. Encouragées à parler de leur ressenti et de leur vécu, nous les aidons à se projeter dans l’avenir que ce soit pour leur carrière future ou juste à court terme. Ces objectifs leur permettent de concentrer leurs forces et leurs pensées sur un but concret et de se reconstruire.

NOS ACTIONS EN SUISSE

Notre équipe s'affaire à récolter des fonds en Suisse et peut compter non seulement sur de généreux donateurs et bénévoles mais également sur plusieurs sources de récolte de fonds.

 

Nos dîners de soutien ont lieu une fois par année et sont notre principale ressource à l’heure actuelle. Ils sont organisés à Lausanne et à Genève et accueillent en moyenne 250 personnes par événement. Plusieurs représentantes de l’AFESIP, dont Somaly Mam elle-même, y participent et apportent des nouvelles du centre et des enfants ainsi que des témoignages. Notre marraine Annalynne McCord, actrice américaine et Présidente de la fondation Together1heart, prend fidèlement part à nos dîners et soutient avec grande énergie notre mission commune.

Nous avons également commencé en 2020 à proposer à ceux et celles qui le souhaitent de parrainer un enfant. Ceux-ci peuvent devenir parrain ou marraine d'un enfant et ainsi créer un lien particulier avec celui-ci. Cela nous permet en retour d'avoir des entrées régulières et de pouvoir soutenir le centre en parallèle de nos dîners.

Finalement, nous pouvons compter sur la générosité de nombreux bénévoles, sponsors et donateurs qui nous permettent de nous investir chaque jour et de continuer à lutter pour nos petites protégées.

AiDEZ-NOUS

Dès aujourd’hui, participez à offrir une vie meilleure à nos enfants.

  • Sensibilisez vos proches
     

  • Participez à nos dîners de soutien ou sponsorisez-les
     

  • Faites une donation ou un parrainage
     

  • Organisez des actions ponctuelles de récolte de fonds
     

  • Suivez et partagez nos publications sur les réseaux sociaux

Solyna

En chiffres

En 2019, nous avons pu reverser CHF 213'314.- grâce au soutien de nombreux donateurs et donatrices ainsi que celui de nos bénévoles. Nous remercions donc toutes les personnes qui ont permis à notre fondation de continuer à agir en faveur des enfants du Cambodge.

Chiffres Solyna 2019
RAPPORTS ANNUELS

Rapport annuel 2015
Rapport annuel 2016
Rapport annuel 2017

Rapport annuel 2018   

Rapport annuel 2019

Rapport annuel 2020 (à venir)

Informations 

légales

La Fondation Solyna est une fondation de droit suisse. Composée d’une équipe de bénévoles, elle a pour bénéficiaire unique l'AFESIP et soutient des enfants victimes de trafic ou de violences sexuelles au Cambodge. 

 

Inscrite au registre du commerce, elle est soumise à l’autorité fédérale de surveillance des fondations. Elle est donc d’utilité publique et exonérée d’impôts. Vos dons, dès CHF 100.-, sont ainsi déductibles de votre déclaration fiscale.